is this expected when changing battery - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By purple145
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 24-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Busy
AO Member
 
biddyrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 183
Images: 16
Garage
is this expected when changing battery

Just replaced the battery on the 2008 1.6 147 and now it says Imobilizer fault and wont start, is this something to be expected and how is it resolved please?

All i have read on here is check this check that, Ariel loop, bad earth, corroded wires, all of which i am sure its not?
biddyrascal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,366
Images: 16
No it's not normal after battery change.....
Check all connections, including the fuse panel on top of the battery. Try disconnecting battery for 15 minutes or so and reconnect....
I'm assuming (new) battery is fully charged....
jwq is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
I have experienced this, albeit on a 145.

Undo both battery cables again and hold them together for some 10 seconds and see if it starts again.

If that fails, examine the maxi fuses on the positive terminal, ensure they are clean and tight. One of those fuses on a 147 (sorry cant remember which one) will cause the immobiliser massage to come on if it's blown/corroded/loose.

HTH
alfski likes this.
purple145 is offline  
 
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,059
I take it it is turning over OK, just not firing up?
purple145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 7 Old 24-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Busy
AO Member
 
biddyrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 183
Images: 16
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by purple145 View Post
I take it it is turning over OK, just not firing up?
Yes it was turning over just not staring, sorted now after disconnecting the battery for a while then reconnecting then locking and unlocking the car with the remote it started ! bloody alfa's eh?
biddyrascal is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
moth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
County: -
Posts: 45
Garage
Check the main EFI 30A fuse on the fuse box next to the battery.
moth3 is offline  
jwq
Status: Giulia Veloce AWD ordered
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 4,366
Images: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by biddyrascal View Post
Yes it was turning over just not staring, sorted now after disconnecting the battery for a while then reconnecting then locking and unlocking the car with the remote it started ! bloody alfa's eh?
jwq is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
battery , changing , expected

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome