Alfa gt drivers window - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 18-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
Alfa gt drivers window

My daughter left her car at ours this morning with a couple f issues to look at before she goes away for the weekend. The drivers window/ switch isn't operating. I wound it down to avoid boiling my head and now it won't go back up. Took the switch apart and it looks ok. Is making the beeping noises when you press the button so I think there is voltage to it. I can measure volts there at the wiring block.
Firstly is there a common issue on these? Do I need a new switch pack or is there a problem with the motors? I have the door panel cover off currently and have got tired of looking for the issue......please any ideas where to look next? If only to just get the window back up for weatherproofing whilst I buy a new part? thanks, John.
alfski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: +o-V-o+
AO Silver Member
 
Giorget2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 3,738
If the switch is anything like those on the 156, there are little plastic tabs locating the rocker part which break off with use, leaving the switch able to make the window go down but not up.
If that has happened, you'll still be able to make the window go up by removing the rocker which then gives you access to the microswitches beneath the rocker. Then you can press the "close" button manually to close the window.
Giorget2 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 17 Old 18-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
I have had the whole switch apart so far. I can touch the contacts using the rubber sheet contacts and make it beep but no window movement. I have swapped the little white plastic fingers which push the rubber sheet into the board too. All to no avail?
alfski is offline  
 
Status: +o-V-o+
AO Silver Member
 
Giorget2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 3,738
To me that sounds like the motor is either dead or the signal isn't getting to the motor then.

Maybe someone with more knowledge of the GT will be able to help - I have not owned one so I don't know it that well.
Giorget2 is offline  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

I had something similar, the window would stick down randomly...usually when raining or miles from home.

I done soft resets, changed the door module and stripped and rebuilt the switch, even had a poxy reset done at the local specialist...a week later the same problem which came up as a canbus error when plugged into my mates Snap-On diagnostic machine...resetting again worked for a couple of days only.

By now rather disenchanted and around 200 out of pocket I gave up and wired the drivers motor directly using a separate aftermarket switch and pair of relays...works perfectly and the passenger window still functions from the otherwise useless lump in the drivers door.

You can take power from the door module so no need to try running cables back to the fusebox either.
This supply will be constant, but I have left my car unused for a fortnight with no ill effects and the switch LED merrily glowing away the whole time.

Sprint - 33 - Sprint - 33 - 155 - GTV - GTV - 156 - GT ...gone German for now though.
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 17 Old 18-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
New window switch pack from Alfa is 235....... Forty quid for a used 147 switch pack from
E bay. Looks to be identical in every way from the photos and worth a chance. Should arrive Friday so it's good we live on a quiet street as I'm going to plastic cover the gap now.
alfski is offline  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

BTW You can get the window up by disconnecting the motor at its plug and jumping the 2 larger cables to 12v at the fag lighter or off the battery (obviously be careful of shorting doing this)
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfski View Post
New window switch pack from Alfa is 235....... Forty quid for a used 147 switch pack from
E bay. Looks to be identical in every way from the photos and worth a chance. Should arrive Friday so it's good we live on a quiet street as I'm going to plastic cover the gap now.
Is the car a GT?
If so a 147 switch will not work, they look similar but have different internals to suit the GT's frameless windows.
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 17 Old 18-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
Yes the car is a gt. I'm guessing the difference wil be the window drops a cm when opening the door and goes back up a cm when the door shuts as its frameless? For forty quid I will give it a go and see what happens I think. She wants the car to go away in on Thursday so needs must. If it's wrong then I will source the correct gt one.
alfski is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 17 Old 18-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
went out to plastic weatherproof the non window and shut the door..... And the window went up.....still leaving it until the replacement switch pack turns up now. At least I'm sure the motor is ok now.
alfski is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 29

Member car:

GT Q2

You might have a similar problem that I've had twice now. Check the white connector block that goes into the window control module. One of the pins may be corroded causing a bad connection. I think it's caused by water ingress. Clean it up and reconnect it and your problem may be solved.
Altech is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 29

Member car:

GT Q2

When you test it make sure the door is closed otherwise the window will not operate
Altech is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 17 Old 18-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
Thanks for that. Sounds useful information. I will give it a go once I'm back from the exhaust place.
alfski is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 34

Member car:

Alfa GT 3.2 V6

This is exactly what happened to mine about six months ago. I *think* disconnecting the battery fixed it. Either way, it fixed itself and hasn't happened again since.
DanGTV6 is offline  
rxe
Status: Busso
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 2,946
Remember that the GT windows don't work with the door open. This has caught me out on numerous occasions.
rxe is offline  
Status: Alfaless
AO Member
 
Alfa Seltzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hants
Posts: 948

Member car:

GT...Golf GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by rxe View Post
Remember that the GT windows don't work with the door open. This has caught me out on numerous occasions.
Mine is on an 04 plate and both windows always worked fine with the doors open...up & down at will.
Prior to me isolating the drivers motor from the canbus full opening and closure could be achieved using the fob too...I believe this may have changed on later versions?

The joys of Italian electrics eh?...I continue to be astounded that my air conditioning still works perfectly
Alfa Seltzer is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 17 Old 19-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Leicester
County: -Leicestershire
Posts: 266
There is a certain flair to Italian electrics.....I try not to look at my spiders wiring too much.
alfski is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
alfa , drivers , window

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
Replace with
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome