How do I kill the damn thing? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 14-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Going the right way
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Hmmm How do I kill the damn thing?

2003 156 1.8TS SW

The computer screen comes on for a few seconds every now and then but since it doesn't normally do anything I really need, I haven't bothered.

Now it springs to life every now and then with an annoying buzzer and tells me that "the brake fluid is low OR the handbrake is on". Why oh why have the same warning for both? I have checked and re-checked the brake fluid and I tend to know when I've put the handbrake on so I figure it's a loose connection at the handbrake.

The manual tells me that I can kill the buzzer but it does rely on the computer being on long enough to press the buttons and it won't do that.

Short of taking a club hammer to it, does anyone have any ideas at all? PLEASE!!!
rodt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
EngholmP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Copenhagen area
County: Denmark
First of all it's important, that you check the level of brake fluid. Usually this alarm comes on when the level of brake fluid is below the minimum mark.
Low fluid level can be caused by worn brake pads and brake discs – or even the clutch.
If the level is low you often will find the clutch not working properly.

Usually topping up will cure this alarm - and the issues with the clutch - for a while, but soon you probably will have to replace the brake pads - or the clutch.
Unless there is a leak, then you will have to bleed the system for excessive brake fluid while replacing the pads.

Personally, I've never succeded in switching off those bl... alarms.

Last edited by EngholmP; 18-07-16 at 23:27.
EngholmP is offline  
Status: DB9 Top Gear Track
AO Silver Member
 
pubsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
If you're sure the fluid is OK why not disconnect the electrical connector, if the warning clears you'll know the sensor in the reservoir is faulty.

Same with the handbrake switch, should be a single wire that is earthed with the handbrake on.

All the best

Pub
pubsinger is offline  
 
Status: Paternal
AO Silver Member
 
Simon_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Images: 5
Is this happening when you've just come to a halt and applied the handbrake by any chance?
Simon_S is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
ExBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
If you're applying the hand brake when the car still has a little momentum you'll get this warning so make sure you're fully stopped before using the hand brake. Connector for the infocentre display lives behind the glovebox to the right - if you want to disable the display entirely, take the glove box liner out and unplug the connector but I wouldn't recommend it as you won't know about any other problems. Budget 50-70 quid or so for a second hand display to replace your faulty one (though it's worth unplugging yours and giving the contacts a spray with contact cleaner and trying it again).
ExBrick is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 8 Old 21-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Going the right way
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon_S View Post
Is this happening when you've just come to a halt and applied the handbrake by any chance?
Occasionally but it's fairly random, generally on rough surfaces but since that is most of the roads in my area...............
rodt is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
EngholmP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Copenhagen area
County: Denmark
If you are sure the fluid level, the brake pads and the discs are OK, then it might be caused by a broken wire - e.g. from the hand brake sensor - or even a broken (or loose) hand brake sensor. Also you might want to check the negative ground wiring.
EngholmP is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
if its only happening on rough ground it may be the fluid needs topping up as the float is close to the mark it comes on and does so as the fluid slops around a bit.
purple145 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
damn , kill , thing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome