156 2.0 ts - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-14
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 12

Member car:

alfa romeo 156 2.0TS

156 2.0 ts

Can the computer from a 156 2.0 TS be tested for malfunctions? If so, are they a repairable item? Or are they a "throw-way" item needing to be replaced wholly?

Is it possible to simply unplug the existing computer, remove it, and then plug in a good replacement without the need to have anything re-programmed? That is, a sort of 'plug in and play' item.

I have discovered that all four spark plugs are firing at the same time, yet I have installed a brand new crank sensor and cam sensor. I also have the timing set up properly - at least from a mechanical point of view. Everything else seems in order. My conclusion is that the fault must lie somewhere in the bowels of the computer! Is this fair thinking?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-14
Tommywho156's Avatar
Status: Glad to be back in an Alfa :)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 1,859

Member car:

GT Blackline JTDm

Have you tried plugging the car into diagnostics? Multiecuscan is free and a set of cables can be had for under £20, that will give you a better idea of what's going on.

As for ECU's yes, they can be replaced. You can pick one up from a scrappy but you'll need the locks, keys etc from the donor car, or, you can buy a vitginalised untit which I believe is plug and play, but I may be mistaken.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-14
David C's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 26,751

Member car:

Audi TT 3.2v6 DSG

Originally Posted by alfanut2day View Post
I have discovered that all four spark plugs are firing at the same time...
You know you have eight spark-plugs...?

Originally Posted by alfanut2day View Post
I also have the timing set up properly - at least from a mechanical point of view.
Did you use the correct engine specific cam locks and a dial gauge to accurately find TDC?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-14
Gertie's Avatar
Status: 156TS racer for sale
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 3,461
Images: 6

Member car:

156SWv6+156TS+GTVTS

Originally Posted by alfanut2day View Post
I have discovered that all four spark plugs are firing at the same time
The Cylinders run in pairs 1 / 3 and 2 / 4.
http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/bF6ohEIu85s/maxresdefault.jpg
This configuration is for wasted spark - meaning that at when Cyl 1 fire for ignition, Cyl 3 fire exhaust stroke to make sure all gasses are burnt - it help with emissions.

http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images/25-1-800.jpg
This configuration is pure twinspark in the sense that both sparkplugs fire simultaneously in one cylinder - bigger bang

I need confirmation on this: AFAIK the ECU fires at both compression and exhaust strokes - in both cases you get twinspark at both strokes - best of both worlds

The benefit with the longer leads are that if one coil pack packs up you still get spark from the other coil pack you only loose the twinspark in 2 cylinders
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-14
Rockhopper's Avatar
Status: Freezing!
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,286

Member car:

MiTo 1.4TB 155hp Veloce

Most cars operate on the wasted spark system.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-14
gazza82's Avatar
Status: new rear shocks fitted
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 7,482
Images: 12

Member car:

'98 156 2.0, '09 MiTo 1.4

Firing 1+4 & 2+3 was on earlier models ... I have that config on my '98 (first pic maxresdefault)

later they went to the 1+1, 2+2s in your second picture (25-1-800)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
2005 Alfa 156 2.4...
Alfa-CF2-V6-Plenum-C...
Alfa-CF3-V6-Plenum-C...
Kleber Quadraxer...
Alfa Romeo 156...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Image

View Tas1308's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
AO Club Members have access to more site features.

Click Here to compare the differences.

New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92