auxiliary belt change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 06-03-14
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 31

Member car:

147 jtd

auxiliary belt change

How difficult Is it to change the aux belt, idler and tensioner?
And does anyone have a guide?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 06-03-14
james1950's Avatar
Status: loving the sunshine
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 250

Member car:

alfa spider and cbr600rr

yeah its easy enough, get new kit then get a 15mm spanner on the tensioner rotate anticlockwise and the belt will slacken (the whole tensioner moves) then release the belt from the idler pulley remove from around all the pulleys and discard. the idler pulley undoes with a 15mm ring spanner and then swap. the same for tensioner, then replace belt after cleaning pulleys. I found it easiest to wind the tensioner back and to slip the belt over the idle pulley far easiest pulley to do with one hand!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 06-03-14
rugbymike7's Avatar
Status: I'm confused :shant:
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 1,365

Member car:

Alfa romeo 147 2.0ts

I ground down a 15mm socket to take pulley off . Took roughly 10mm off. I then used the jack from the boot on some wood to jack the spanner on the tensioner when fitting the belt
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 07-03-14
Egon's Avatar
Status: I hate diesels. Period.
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 1,615

Member car:

147 ts lusso/159 jtdm

Originally Posted by rugbymike7 View Post
I ground down a 15mm socket to take pulley off . Took roughly 10mm off. I then used the jack from the boot on some wood to jack the spanner on the tensioner when fitting the belt
Jees, thats a bit overkill, isnt it?
If you get the belt over most of the pulleys then get the 15 on the tensioner, i found that another spanner interlocked on the 15mm spanner (ring end over the open end of the 15mm spanner) you can get enough leverage to get the belt over.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 07-03-14
rugbymike7's Avatar
Status: I'm confused :shant:
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 1,365

Member car:

Alfa romeo 147 2.0ts

Well I tried it that way couldn't manage it so I used my jack took 10 mins. Obviously I didn't go mental with the jack. Just enough to get belt on. Saved me struggling it just seemed like I need 4 pairs of hands so I did it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 07-03-14
keithyboy's Avatar
Status: join our fantasy football league
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cambodia
County: Phnom Penh
Posts: 4,947

Member car:

Zaporozhets turbo

Originally Posted by rugbymike7 View Post
I ground down a 15mm socket to take pulley off . Took roughly 10mm off. I then used the jack from the boot on some wood to jack the spanner on the tensioner when fitting the belt
I did likewise with the 15mil. I found enough leverage with another spanner hooked over the open end of the one on the tensioner. However, I'm quite fat so most things I lean on tend to move.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 08-03-14
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 31

Member car:

147 jtd

Thanks everyone for the advice. I'll give it a go tomorrow.

Are the belts the stretch belt kind as a mate of mine has a stretch belt installation tool that supposedly makes installing the new belt easy as pie!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-14
Gertie's Avatar
Status: 156TS racer for sale
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 3,180
Images: 6

Member car:

156SWv6+156TS+GTVTS

Originally Posted by din1civ View Post
Thanks everyone for the advice. I'll give it a go tomorrow.

Are the belts the stretch belt kind as a mate of mine has a stretch belt installation tool that supposedly makes installing the new belt easy as pie!
No these DO NOT STRETCH - if they do they are bust - the rotating tensioner does the job

Last edited by Gertie; 10-03-14 at 22:42.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 10-03-14
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gwynedd
Posts: 31

Member car:

147 jtd

Thanks Gertie,

I didn't think they were the stretch kind but thought I would check.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
auxiliary, belt, change

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa Romeo 156...
2009 Alfa Romeo...
2011 Alfa Romeo...
Alfa Romeo GT...
L@@K~JUST...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Ao Killarney Meet...

View David P's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
You can change the look and feel of AO by changing your colour scheme

   

New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:43.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89