Motor control system failure help - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

Motor control system failure help

Afternoon all. My 147 JTD 8v 2003 with remap showed the MSCF symbol while driving yesterday. Upon a bit of investigative driving today the error only comes up when then engine is under load at higher revs, in 3rd grear about 3200rpm, 4th gear over 2700rpm. If I keep my foot planted the warning stays on until I start to loose power and lose revs at which point the light goes off and when I change gear everything returns to normal and the warning dissapears, until I accelerate again where the process starts again. Going downhill with high revs doesn't cause it, only when under higher loads (level ground or uphill).

I've plugged 2 generic fault readers into it and they show no errors, only strange thing was one of them showed the wrong rev reading but that could be the cheap reader?

Any thoughts anyone?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

Forgot to mention, mileage is just over 100000
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

Little update. I did the EGR valve clean by ShiftyBloke and found a fair amount of sticky soot in the inlet manifold so scraped out as much as I could (I was a bit limited on time) and pieced it back together and it's still the same :-( The EGR valve was totally free though and just had the usual build up of soot on it but everything was moving freely.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-13
Shaun.'s Avatar
Status: Selling the GT :(
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 116

Member car:

Alfa Romeo GT JTDm '05

Try and get a reader which shows you the stores codes. At Least it will point you in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-13
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,860

Member car:

alfa romeo gt 1.9 jtdm

dirty MAP sensor caused my error.....its near the egr.....bit further left and held in with one torx bolt.......clean it with carb cleaner...........another possible problem may be overboost caused by sticking vanes in the turbo, but try the MAP clean first
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 18-03-13
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Ayrshire
Posts: 53

Member car:

156 Veloce M-Jet JTD

michael
have you tried the Torque App for smart phones?

I bought my alfa last month and with the help of a cheap bluetooth OBD interface - I am able to read and clear DTC's - more importantly for you - you are able to monitor the ECU inputs from MAF - Turbo pressure - EGR status - Fuel rail pressure - and many more interesting readings.

I was able to see that my MAF was returning a 0.0 reading and that the turbo boost of 1.3 psi was a bit low (vacuum hose!!) and when my EGR trips up i can reset the code - my EGR is clean and working but still throws a code 50% of the time.

Good Luck

Dougie
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 19-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

Right, revelations! Downloaded Multiecuscan and found a fiend with a VAG cable and have been able to scan the DTC (unfortunately after changing my fuel filter but at least I have a new filter now!).

I got the error code P0235 - supercharging pressure - boost pressure circuit A malfunction.

Here's the print screen showing more information.
DTC gif.jpg
Soooooooooo, what does this mean for me?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 19-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

Also thanks to everyone replying with help and advise, sure the problem will get fixed soon enough!

Having a quick look around and seems to be 3 things people are saying:
1) MAP sensor dirty or failed
2) Split hoses (vacuum and pressure)
3) Turbo vanes stuck (probably open)

So I can tackle 1 and 2 reasonable easily I think, can I check 3 by simply seeing if the actuator moves on the turbo?
Also where exactly is the MAP sensor? Is it just to the left of the EGR valve on the manifold as you look at the engine?

Last edited by michaela2z; 19-03-13 at 21:42.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 20-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

Cleaned the MAP sensor which was very sludgy but still no fix.

Should the turbo actuator move freely when the engine isn't running? Mine doesn't move but does move when the engine is started and revs but not much?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 20-03-13
Dickymint_156's Avatar
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,116
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 16v M-jet JTD

Mine only moves when i start the car..... somtimes mine moves ok and somtimes it gets stuck but now I had a full service and the weathers warmed up its harly done it, think twice in the last month but befor it was doing it every other trip so its either the temp or the oil change to semi 10/40 from full synthetic 5/40 race oil so I dont know but I know I will be buying a new turbo at some point
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 20-03-13
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
County: -
Posts: 8

Member car:

147 JTD 2003

I'm starting to get a little stumped now :-( Used Multiecuscan and have been able to actuate the boost actuator and see that it all appears to be moving on the turbo (assuming it is actually moving the vanes inside). I've inspected as many pipes that I can and none of them seem damaged/split.

So assuming I can cross out the turbo and pipes as my problem how about the EGR again? While it may all be cleaning and moving could it just be faulty and not working? Or are there any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control, failure, motor, system

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa-CF2-V6-Plenum-C...
Alfa-CF3-V6-Plenum-C...
Kleber Quadraxer...
Alfa Romeo 156...
2009 Alfa Romeo...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Ao Killarney Meet...

View David P's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Within your User Control Panel, you can change the way AO works:
For example, to change the number of posts per page, go to Edit Options and scroll down to 'Thread Display Options'. In the section 'Number of Posts to Show Per Page' select a desired amount.


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91