alfa 156 selespeed clutch change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 02-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

alfa 156 selespeed clutch change

Hi everyone, We are trying to change the ckutch of my alfa 156 selespeed (2001). But we got problem to tack the grearbox down. all screws are open. the selespeed pump does not alow us to move the gearbox to the direction that make this part free from the engine. we tried to remove the selespeed pump but it seams to not be a simple thing to do. the pump is released but the it will not be enough pushed out to be released. so we decided to put the whole engine down. any one have doen this before? is it the correct way to do so?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 02-08-12
Cosmo156SS's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 430

Member car:

'01 156 Selespeed

By selespeed pump, do you mean the actuator/robot on the top of the gearbox? If you remove it, you should use a special tool or an extension bar/long socket to lock the unit before removal or you will have problems fitting it correctly again. The gearbox should come out if you drop the subframe, but it's very tight.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 03-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

yes, with robot on the gearbox, we coulldn't remove the gearbox, and we didn't know tha we needed a tool for removing it. we opened 3 screws and could move the robot partly but we could never remove the robot. so we decided to take the whole engin down. it has been a hele to make it. tomorow we will change the clutch and cam belt, I am very concern about the robot, since we have open it and tried to remove and I saw even sign of strike on it. what should we be careful when we put the part back tomorrow?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 03-08-12
Cosmo156SS's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 430

Member car:

'01 156 Selespeed

The only bolt holding it to the gearbox is probably the retaining screw on the selector shaft. It's hidden behind a plug on the side of the unit. If you came this far without removing it, just leave it there.

Once you are finished with the assembly, you need a diagnostic computer to adjust to the clutch actuator pushrod to 28-28,5mm and a calibration would probably not hurt.

Hope you are not stranded on the sidewalk with this, sounds like a hell of a job...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fingerBolt.jpg (89.5 KB, 29 views)

Last edited by Cosmo156SS; 03-08-12 at 21:03. Reason: Picture
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 03-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

I have the DnEcuDiag, which I guess will be used for calibration. which program is used for diagnostic? I have even Fiat ECU Scanner.
I guess we have the same car. don't we?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 03-08-12
Cosmo156SS's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 430

Member car:

'01 156 Selespeed

the free version of DnEcuDiag is useless. Alfadiag with license works great. Never tried FES, but I guess it could work.

Yep, still going strong on the 4th year of my selespeed ownership.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 04-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

Hi you wrote to me "you need a diagnostic computer to adjust to the clutch actuator pushrod to 28-28,5mm" what is the name of the program I can use? is there any free version of this program? or I should take the car to a acthorized workshop?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 04-08-12
Cosmo156SS's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 430

Member car:

'01 156 Selespeed

A windows laptop with fiat ecu scan + obd2 kkl cable should work.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 04-08-12
rarebear's Avatar
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 6,856

Member car:

156 Selespeed SP2

And if you take off the pinch bolt that attaches the sele unit to the box, you need a new bolt,
it can be used only once and is tight as hell ! Make sure you have snap-on tools or some such !
Good luck... Its a hell of a job ( dont ask how I know)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 04-08-12
Alfa156Melb's Avatar
Status: I have a GTA now!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 821
Images: 14

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA & JTS

AlfaDiag is out of date and quite old, although it does the job. FiatECUScan is much better and current technology.. about the same price..

You can read fault codes with the free version, but you cannot calibrate with either unless you buy a licence.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 05-08-12
belavia's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 658
Images: 6

Member car:

2002 Alfa 147 2.0TS

with FES u can also depressurise the system, if that helps in any way so oil dosent go everywhere
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 06-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

I got my FiatECUScan when I purchased my ODB2 cable. It came in a CD, ity must be the free version? how do I know that it was the free version? where can I buy the licence?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 06-08-12
rarebear's Avatar
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 6,856

Member car:

156 Selespeed SP2

fiatecuscan.net
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

Astix,
You have written "you need a diagnostic computer to adjust to the clutch actuator pushrod to 28-28,5mm".
I purchased the Fiatecuscan program licence. how can I adjust the clutch actuator pushrod to 28-28,5mm?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Alfa156Melb's Avatar
Status: I have a GTA now!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 821
Images: 14

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA & JTS

Originally Posted by sellespeed View Post
Astix,
You have written "you need a diagnostic computer to adjust to the clutch actuator pushrod to 28-28,5mm".
I purchased the Fiatecuscan program licence. how can I adjust the clutch actuator pushrod to 28-28,5mm?

Thanks
See this thread: http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...-alfadiag.html (Selespeed Clutch Rod (adjustment with alfadiag)))

Using FES the paremeter to look for is called - Clutch engaged position (self-adjusted)

Otherwise the procedure is the same as AlfaDiag.

Click on the link below for a pic - remembering the numbers should be between 28 - 28.5 but as close to 28mm as you can get.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/26761740/Al...20position.PNG

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

Just an update before we fill in the oils and connect all connectors:

Cam and balance belt are changed. as well as the clutch. a number of screws have broken but we replaced them with new ones. it has been a hell. Alfa Romeo does not make cars that need repair. The question is if they believe in their quality or they don't think about maintenance at all.
any way, in order to change the clutch we put the whole engine down. and up again. my mechanic was really ****ed off during the early phase, he wanted to avoid to not put the engine down, since he suspected complications. and they came (Complications). screw bundling the steering wheel box broke. a number of big screws under car did brake too. all the screws and bolts that connect the front wheel to the gearbox are designed in a very stupid way.

We will probably start the engine this evening. I am worried about the selespeed function.
to be continued
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

BTW, I should I use the "Bosch Motronic ME 3.1 (2.0 TS Selespeed)" for type of engine in teh dialouge interface?
I owen an Alfa 2.0 (TS) selespeed model 2001
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
rarebear's Avatar
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 6,856

Member car:

156 Selespeed SP2

Originally Posted by sellespeed View Post
BTW, I should I use the "Bosch Motronic ME 3.1 (2.0 TS Selespeed)" for type of engine in teh dialouge interface?
I owen an Alfa 2.0 (TS) selespeed model 2001
Thanks
YES, definitively

but for the selespeed you need one of CF... modules
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

I did use the "Bosch Motronic ME 3.1 (2.0 TS Selespeed)" but I get the "invalid ISO Code" message. ?????
Reply With Quote
  #20 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 373

Member car:

156 SW Spider MGBGT

The best person to ask abou this has been banned from this forum, but he can be found on another. Until then try the Me7.3.1 option as you'll have a CF3.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
Cosmo156SS's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 430

Member car:

'01 156 Selespeed

Wrong cable? My 2001 selespeed is a CF2 ME 3.1 CF 208
Reply With Quote
  #22 (Post Link)  
Old 08-08-12
belavia's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
County: New South Wales
Posts: 658
Images: 6

Member car:

2002 Alfa 147 2.0TS

sorry to ask so late,but did you have a repair manual? like DTE? Alfa is not a normal car, its like a mini engineered ferrari(if ur the racer type) or a mini luxury Private jet(for people like me), Next time study removal and installations before doing such a big job, also pictures help from this forum and others.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (Post Link)  
Old 17-08-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden
County: Stockholm
Posts: 10

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156 sellespeed

Hi,
I have tried Me7.3.1 and it works. But I have not been able to calibrate my selespeed. The program is called Multiecuscan and I purchased it from Multiecuscan - Diagnostics software for Italian cars (Powered by FiatECUScan) (the new name of the site is Multiecuscan - Diagnostics software for Italian cars (Powered by FiatECUScan)). anyway. using some adjustment function for my selespeed, I still have the same problems with the gearbox listed here:

1) gearbox in first position and i push the acceleration pedal, the gearbox changes to third position and then down to second. It does not matter if the gearbox is in city or the manual position.
2) The grearbox is in first position but the display shows 4, and if I change the position manual upp, the display will show 5 and the gearbox will even go from 1 to 5.
3) the display constantly twinkling when the gearbox in in possitions 1 and 2.
any idea what should be done? is it a calibration issue or hardware?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156, alfa, change, clutch, selespeed

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
2009 Alfa Romeo...
Alfa Romeo Spider...
Alfa Romeo...
Alfa Romeo GTV 2.0...
2004 ALFA ROMEO 147...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Alfa 159

View paul.o's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Clicking on a members username within a forum post displays extra options.


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:04.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 730 731 732 733