fault codes - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 15-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

fault codes

Hi, yesterday afternoon red management light came on and after plugging into alfa diag came up with code p0100 maf component complete failiure. got new one today put it on and reset ecu took our for a drive ad now it wont rev over 4000 rpm and reads p0130 fault recently had new lambda so now im stummped help please 156 1.8ts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 15-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

Originally Posted by chris5047 View Post
Hi, yesterday afternoon red management light came on and after plugging into alfa diag came up with code p0100 maf component complete failiure. got new one today put it on and reset ecu took our for a drive ad now it wont rev over 4000 rpm and reads p0130 fault recently had new lambda so now im stummped help please 156 1.8ts.
new bosch?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 15-02-12
1of1's Avatar
Status: DEFCON5
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Principe
Posts: 11,579
Images: 7

Member car:

156 V6

Genuine Bosch MAF?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 15-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

touche
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 15-02-12
1of1's Avatar
Status: DEFCON5
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Principe
Posts: 11,579
Images: 7

Member car:

156 V6

Err yeah, for those that don't know, I follow Dave around copying his posts
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 15-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

Originally Posted by 1of1 View Post
Err yeah, for those that don't know, I follow Dave around copying his posts
shh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
Lacken156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
is the connector on the correct way around? or did you fit the sensor the correct orination? On the sid eof the sensor is an ===> that needs to go from the airbox ===> to the engine, not the other way.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
rarebear's Avatar
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 6,933

Member car:

156 Selespeed SP2

How does the engine run with the maf disconnected ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Hi the maf is not genuine Bosch what difference does this make after all I have read on here Bosch is the only way but funds are a little tight at the moment, also lambda is ntk which after readi g on here I should not have had either!! The car was hesitant at 2500 rpm up to 3500 since I got it 6 months ago. Would this have be because of the sensors not being genuine Bosch??

Thanks

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
1of1's Avatar
Status: DEFCON5
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Principe
Posts: 11,579
Images: 7

Member car:

156 V6

Tis well documented that those non Bosch items cause issues...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
Davffc
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by chris5047 View Post
Hi the maf is not genuine Bosch what difference does this make

Thanks

Chris
I think you are, unfortunately, finding out what difference a non Bosch MAF makes.
As suggested by Rarebear disconnect the MAF and take the car for a drive and see how it performs.
It likely wont idle properly but concentrate on the rest of the rev range
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

will the ntk lambda be ok for now because this is the fault code thats coming up p0130. i love this car but im still waiting to feel a true alfa experience or is this what they mean!! lol i will give it a go in the morning... im about to make things up with the wife for not doing anything on valentines day!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 16-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

Originally Posted by chris5047 View Post
will the ntk lambda be ok for now because this is the fault code thats coming up p0130. i love this car but im still waiting to feel a true alfa experience or is this what they mean!! lol i will give it a go in the morning... im about to make things up with the wife for not doing anything on valentines day!!!!
!!!!!!!bosch systems like reading bosch sensors buy wife new bosch accessories
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Hi again guys, ok update car when cold will not rev past 4000 rpm when warm will rev like a ***** with slight flat spot at 2500 then fine up to 4000 then sounds like limiter kicks in then pulls through and revs up to 5000 then same again!!! grrr i have been told from the garage that i got maf from that ntk lambda sensors are as good if not better than bosch and that intermotor (maker of maf sensor he got me) make the components for bosch!!

since i did ecu reset no fault codes come up now, but when i plug alfadiag in and plot sensors for the pre cat sensor sensor it shows it running lean then rich then open closed circuit and same pattern again.

i also keep reading on other forums about crankshaft sensors could be doing the same thing????

thanks
chris
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-12
Davffc
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Were those results with the MAF disconnected ?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-12
Lacken156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
lambda won't stop the car rev'ing , try disconnecting the MAF sensor & see if it rev's better. if not perha[s the Cam sesnor is defective or that the CAT is blocked.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Originally Posted by Davffc View Post
Were those results with the MAF disconnected ?
hi no not with maf disconnected this all connected up..... when disconnected the car srtuggles to move..
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

i think you have an issue with your MAF if you can get to the wirral ill look at it for ya
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

better still take it to gus ...he will save you time and money http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/members/alfa+tuner.html
Reply With Quote
  #20 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

thanks all, I will update with news
Reply With Quote
  #21 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-12
davealfa11's Avatar
Status: blind leading the blind
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,699
Images: 4

Member car:

156 1.9 mjet 16v

i think you got 2 issues one is lamda and other is maf my money is on lambda
Reply With Quote
  #22 (Post Link)  
Old 24-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

hi ok update time!! ordered new bosch maf put on today and its a totally different car! revs up to the red line only problem now is at 4000 it holds back feels sluggish then picks up again, could this be the cam sensor??????????? answers on a postcode please

chris
Reply With Quote
  #23 (Post Link)  
Old 24-02-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Ceredigion
Posts: 147

Member car:

Gt jtd

My old 145 did that till i changed maf?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (Post Link)  
Old 25-02-12
Status: alfa expert in training!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 11

Member car:

156 1.8ts

Originally Posted by AN.OK View Post
My old 145 did that till i changed maf?
just put new one on so thats why im thinking it could be cam sensor after reading alot on here about this issue.

it is a work in progress and takes up most of my weekends off......... still love it though!!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (Post Link)  
Old 20-06-12
GTV sean's Avatar
Status: rocking a Novitec pipe now !
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Eastern Cape
Posts: 218
Images: 8

Member car:

GTV 3.0 24V x 2 + 145 QV

now i have a different problem...

i recently bought a 145 thats got 94 000 km on its clock and i bought from a private person that didn't use the car because of disabilities so it stood for about a year. i bought the car and immediately took it home and gave it a full service! it felt so tight and not willing to go so i didnt hammer her. i drove her lightly and after about 2000 km she felt loose and willing to rev and wants to go! so i decided to take it out on the highway and put it into 2nd and put my foot down but sadly i was extremely disappointed when she pulled hard to 4000 and then sort of surged, lost its power and then at 5000 pulled again and then surged with no power and then pulled hard to the red line... i have other than that given her a few hard revs and the same thing happens...

sigh...

i have a GTV 3.0 that i know like the back of my hand and ive sorted a few probs out with it myself so i know how these Alfa's work..i used to use the GTV everyday but i decided i need to preserve it abit so i decided to buy a 145 which is extremely rare here in South Africa..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
codes, fault

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa-CF2-V6-Plenum-C...
Alfa-CF3-V6-Plenum-C...
Kleber Quadraxer...
Alfa Romeo 156...
2009 Alfa Romeo...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Ao Killarney Meet...

View David P's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
We take privacy seriously, this is why we advise you to check your privacy settings by visiting your profile area and selecting "Profile Privacy".


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:11.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91