Fault codes - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 selespeed

Fault codes

Owdoo,Anyone out there know how to rectify codes P1762 and P0725 on a 156 selespeed? Ta very muchly.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Related to the engine speed sensor, by the looks of things...

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...-ii-codes.html (OBD II Codes)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-10
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 selespeed

Can u tell me where these sensors are located,and if possible,part names/numbers?. Cheers chucky.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

I think these faults are probably relating to an issue with communications between the Sele ECU and the engine ECU.

Check the two big connectors on the engine ECU (top of the throttle body) are clean and secure, and that the earth to it is good.

The Sele ECU is in the passenger footwell. Remove the cover, and check the connections at that end too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-10
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 selespeed

Thanx for that, I did that this a.m. havnt had time to test drive properly yet! Thanx again chucklebunny, Ill let you know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Well, I don't think I've ever been called that before!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-10
156Chris's Avatar
Status: Wanted ... Recaro Cloth Interior (prefer Electric)
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,807
Images: 12

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD 200bhp+

Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
Well, I don't think I've ever been called that before!
I have a feeling that you'll be called that again though
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 18-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
I have a feeling that you'll be called that again though
I was

Back on subject... () Also check the brown crank sensor plug at the back/right of the engine, and the speed sensor plug on the gearbox (orange plug on the front).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 21-02-10
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 19

Member car:

156 selespeed

Sorry i ant been in touch,been busy drinking beer! Anyways,gave alfa a good run and its bob on. So many thanx to you and all the other chucklebunnies for your marriage guidance and vehicular viagra, we are back in love!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 28-10-10
Status: the Alfa is re-born!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyrone
Posts: 379

Member car:

Alfa 147 TS 2.0 Selespeed

I have these codes too, and now need your marriage guidance before the divorce papers are produced..

You might have seen my other posts in:

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...speed-ecu.html (Battery Voltage + P07025 error on Selespeed ECU)

and

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...selespeed.html (Flashing 5th gear on Selespeed)

and

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...selespeed.html (Clunky selespeed?)

Basically, the car has decided to throw a wobbly sometimes and is very slow to downshift the gears. Sometimes the revs will drop so low that the car stalls, steering locks up and I get Selespeed System Failure.

I have been round the earth and back again to try and get to the bottom of it so I would rellay appreciate your help at this final hurdle (I hope). I'd definately agree with iainfm that this is a communication issue between the selespeed ecu and engine ecu.

I previously only got error P0725 on the selespeed ecu as a clue to what was going on. The last time it really played up and I had to re-calibrate the gearbox etc. before I could move again.

By the way, the clutch rod is set to 28mm and I have cleaned the 20-pin connector.

But now, the same code (P0725) has reappeared along with a new one: P1762 Can Message Transmission (signal not plausable).

I haven't checked is the connections to the selespeed ecu behind the glovebox and this is the next thing I think I should try. Is this simple enough to get access to and easy enough to do on a cold windy night like tonight?

Thanks all, really appreciate you taking the time to read/reply..
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 28-10-10
Status: the Alfa is re-born!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyrone
Posts: 379

Member car:

Alfa 147 TS 2.0 Selespeed

OK, went outside 10 mins ago after disconnecting battery, taking off the kick-guard, disconnecting selespeed ECU plugs and giving a clean with contact cleaner. Put back together and went for a test drive. She was all nice and smooth and when the revs dropped down to a point the gears downshifted as they should. She was all singing and dancing and I thought "great, finally fixed" then turned around and headed home. Then coming into the estate "Selespeed system failure" reared its ugly head again and car stalled. WTF I thought, give it a little chance. Started her up again and headed for a speed hump and let the revs drop. STALL again. ITS STILL NO BETTER, HELP!!

I'm thinking to check the relays next then or failing that cold the selespeed ECU be faulty?

EDIT: Iain - looking at your post #8 now..

Maybe the crank sensor (now thats more plausible because its not picking up engine speed? from the main ecu - but then why no fault codes on it?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 28-10-10
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6

Member car:

146TS+Ti,156 Sele x2 + V6

That sounds like a dead pump.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 28-10-10
Status: the Alfa is re-born!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyrone
Posts: 379

Member car:

Alfa 147 TS 2.0 Selespeed

Originally Posted by Smaky View Post
That sounds like a dead pump.
But the thing is she never fails to change gear and I am able to knock her into N just before it stalls if I see the revs getting too low!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 29-10-10
Status: the Alfa is re-born!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyrone
Posts: 379

Member car:

Alfa 147 TS 2.0 Selespeed

Just checked/cleaned the brown crank sensor plug and the orange plug in front of the gearbox but still as bad as ever, as soon as the revs drop she wont change down gear and will stall...
ARRRGGHH! please help me someone!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 30-10-10
Status: the Alfa is re-born!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyrone
Posts: 379

Member car:

Alfa 147 TS 2.0 Selespeed

OK just an update to this...

I have cleaned and swapped around the relays in front of the battery and all is 100% so far (suppose I should have done that first!)...let you all know how I get on.

Also I have been 'forced' to put it up for sale so really need this to be working and continue working if I'm going to sell. If anyones interested have a look on Gumtree and check back in a while to see how its going..you know its been looked after!

Thanks all,

Last edited by aopa25; 30-10-10 at 17:29.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
codes, fault

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
2012 Alfa Romeo...
2011 Alfa Romeo...
Alfa Romeo Mito...
Alfa Romeo 159 Jtdm...
2008 Alfa Romeo 159...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Img 0961

View ALFAPAT's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Within your User Control Panel, you can change the way AO works:
For example, to change the number of posts per page, go to Edit Options and scroll down to 'Thread Display Options'. In the section 'Number of Posts to Show Per Page' select a desired amount.


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:11.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83