Selespeed troubles - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
Status: Deceased
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 24

Member car:

Alfa 147 2.0 TS Selespeed

Hmmm Selespeed troubles

Hello Guys,

Just after a bit of advice really. I've got a 2002 147 Selespeed which is occasionally missing 3rd & 4th gears. 95% of the time the selespeed works fine, but the rest of the time it hesitates after 2nd gear, sometimes skips 3rd and goes into 4th, or just misses 3rd & 4th and goes straight for 5th gear. Coming down the gearbox is usually fine, but it will sometimes miss gears too.

With the engine off its a similar thing, 95% of the time all gears are available, the rest of the time it is exactly the same as above - although last night I could only get 1st & 2nd then straight into neutral, but this morning it was fine again.

So far I have:
1. Checked for swarf in the end plate - nothing there
2. Had the push rod adjusted
3. Had a calibration done

Yesterday my car was serviced and everything was checked with examiner and came back ok. Pressures were all good, battery was good, pump works fine and there were no faults logged and no selespeed warnings.

I'm going to have a wiggle and check of the connectors to the sensors on the selespeed unit & gearbox speed sensor today to see if any are loose and do a resistance check of the sensors (should be 1.2K ohm I think I read?). Does this fault sound like a sensor is failing?

If I don't find anything obvious, where is the best place to look next?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Sounds like this one, I'm afraid. Have a read and see what you think...

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...ce-needed.html (Selespeed 156 Advice Needed)

Last edited by iainfm; 17-02-10 at 10:43.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
Status: Deceased
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 24

Member car:

Alfa 147 2.0 TS Selespeed

Oh bugger.... that looks horribly similar to the problems I've been having. So its a gearbox/syncro problem rather than a selespeed one

I've just paid out £850 for a service, cats, brakes & powersteering bits Do you have any ideas on rough costs for swapping the box out or getting it repaired? My mechanical skills probably fall well short of swapping the box out (unless its easier than I think?).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

It was a cracked casing in Mike's case.

A new one from a dealer...is silly money. I got Mike's replacement from ebay for under £60.

Swapping should be no problem to anyone who's changed a manual box before. The actuator needs to be removed (it's bolted to the top of it), and once it's all back together the clutch needs to be adjusted, and the actuator needs to be recalibrated.

The best guy to do it is in Swindon. It would be cheaper to take it to him, and stay in a hotel if necessary, than get it done anywhere else...


Breaking X-Reg 156 1.6 TS. Most parts available.

S'cuse me, while I Kiss The Sky...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
Status: Deceased
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 24

Member car:

Alfa 147 2.0 TS Selespeed

Sorry for all the questions, but do you have any contact details for the guy in Swindon? And will any 2.0TS gear box do or does it have to be specifically one that had a selespeed unit fitted?

Could you repost that link again, the one above has stopped working and I can't seem to find it through the search.

I really appreciate all the help you've given me.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 17-02-10
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

I'll pm you the details.

I've edited my post for the right link. I'd pasted the search query by mistake
Reply With Quote
Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
2005 Alfa 156 2.4...
Alfa-CF2-V6-Plenum-C...
Alfa-CF3-V6-Plenum-C...
Kleber Quadraxer...
Alfa Romeo 156...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

My Latest Transport

View Verbout's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Clicking on a members username within a forum post displays extra options.


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94