156 aux belt tensioner - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 5

Member car:

alfa 156

156 aux belt tensioner

Hi

How do you replace the aux belt tensioner on a 2.0l 156?
Tried replacing Aux belt with one from motor factors but i could not get it to fit as it just seemed too short(has air con and got belt for 156 with air con),even though they were sure it was the right one
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,320
Images: 10

Member car:

various Alfas

Why do you want to replace the tensioner?They are all the same.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
Joss's Avatar
Status: Engine rebuild looming
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 17,595
Images: 14

Member car:

156 GTA,E12 M BMW,MitoQV

Silly question here. Can't you match the old and new one to see if they are the same size when they are both off?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Did you change the idler as well? There are a couple of sizes of those...

You fit the tensioner onto the block, then you need a 15mm spanner to turn the tensioner itself about 90deg clockwise. Wrap the belt around it and let the tensioner take up the slack.

It's a bit awkward, and it helps to have an assistant to hold the belts as they tend to try to jump off. Make sure it's properly seated in the pulleys as well, and keep all fingers out of the way!

Do you need a picture showing the route of the belt?


Breaking X-Reg 156 1.6 TS. Most parts available.

S'cuse me, while I Kiss The Sky...

Last edited by iainfm; 04-06-09 at 19:14.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 5

Member car:

alfa 156

Don't have the old belt,it came off.

Tensioner wheel has play in it....should it?
To remove the tensioner is it just one bolt?
Changing idler wheel as well,just one bolt too?

I tried fitting the last bit of slack in the belt to the air con pulley but it just wouldn't stretch enough.
Then i tried fitting the last bit onto other pulleys but the same so im wondering is it a prob with the tensioner or just the wrong belt.The part number was 7pk.......Does anyone have the genuine alfa part number for the belt or other parts?

A pic would be good,thanks.

Last edited by Don180; 04-06-09 at 18:11.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Originally Posted by Don180 View Post
Don't have the old belt,it came off.
Thought that'd be the case!

Originally Posted by Don180 View Post
Tensioner wheel has play in it....should it?
To remove the tensioner is it just one bolt?
Changing idler wheel as well,just one bolt too?
What kind of play? In/out? side-to-side? Just one bolt to remove it, and the wheel. You'll need a deep off-set spanner to get at the idler bolt. I did one the other day that was on stupidly tight, and had to drop the engine slightly to get a socket on it!

Originally Posted by Don180 View Post
I tried fitting the last bit of slack in the belt to the air con pulley but it just wouldn't stretch enough.
Then i tried fitting the last bit onto other pulleys but the same so im wondering is it a prob with the tensioner or just the wrong belt.The part number was 7pk.......Does anyone have the genuine alfa part number for the belt or other parts?

A pic would be good,thanks.
The only way you'll do it is to hold the tensioner off the belt by turning the tensioning part of it clockwise (15mm spanner on the bolt head that's in the middle of the wheel, not the one that holds it onto the block). Route the belt first, and get the slack near the tensioner/idler - then de-tension it (it's spring-loaded), and slip the belt over the idler/tensioner. It's not easy, and it'll probably take a couple of goes.

Pics of the tensioner are on ebspare's website. Give me a mo, and I'll dig out a pic of the belt's route.

Last edited by iainfm; 04-06-09 at 19:13.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Here you go.

PAS : power-steering pump
AC : Aircon compressor
G : Idler
CS : Crankshaft pulley
T : Tensioner
GEN : Alternator
Attached Images
File Type: jpg serpbelt.jpg (63.3 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 04-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 5

Member car:

alfa 156

Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
Thought that'd be the case!



What kind of play? In/out? side-to-side? Just one bolt to remove it, and the wheel. You'll need a deep off-set spanner to get at the idler bolt. I did one the other day that was on stupidly tight, and had to drop the engine slightly to get a socket on it!

Yes side to side,in and out.Surely that would make the belt come off
Just the tensioner wheel where the belt runs along has the movement


The only way you'll do it is to hold the tensioner off the belt by turning the tensioning part of it clockwise (15mm spanner on the bolt head that's in the middle of the wheel, not the one that holds it onto the block). Route the belt first, and get the slack near the tensioner/idler - then de-tension it (it's spring-loaded), and slip the belt over the idler/tensioner. It's not easy, and it'll probably take a couple of goes.

Im not sure i get you......
You say turn it clockwise? isn't it anti clockwise?
So the tensioner wheel has to be the last pulley to fit the belt over!?.


Pics of the tensioner are on ebspare's website. Give me a mo, and I'll dig out a pic of the belt's route.
Thanks for the help so far
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

I put anti-clockwise originally, then looked at the picture and confused myself (and did a sly edit!)

Thinking about it again (with less whisky in my system!) anti-clockwise is the way to slacken it.

It'll only turn one way anyway. The spring's pretty strong, so get in a good position to heave on the spanner!

An assistant is very useful as well. But watch not to trap their fingers!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6

Member car:

146TS+Ti,156 Sele x2 + V6

15mm spanner, length of string, loop the belt into position leaving it resting across the side of the Idler and it takes 10 seconds to fit a belt on your own, for witnesses to this fact just ask Davis222, Wetpants, Rallye Matt, Raul, Rob3rto, Tatters40 or anyone that's been to see me since xmas, after they've seen me do it they wonder why all the guides say do it from underneath... as I've never done one from down there and my fingers will never be harmed.

It is still easier to swap the Tensioner and Idler from underneth though.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

What's the string for? To pull on the spanner? I'll have to give it a go
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6

Member car:

146TS+Ti,156 Sele x2 + V6

Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
What's the string for? To pull on the spanner? I'll have to give it a go
Exactly.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

You should patent that method!!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,546
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

When I did my last one, I used a large, long screwdriver, and a 15mm ring spanner with another ring at the other end..

I then fed the belt over the top pulleys, and put the spanner underneath the bottom belt run and then onto the tensioner.

I then levered over the tensioner and put the screwdriver through the other ring on the spanner so that the screwdrivers handle wedged against the brake disc.

That hols the tensioner over so that you can put the belt over it with your fingers...

Then simply remove the screwdriver, the tensioner springs back and voila.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
Prof Peach's Avatar
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northumberland
Posts: 3,800
Images: 13

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

Must just be my ape-like physique, but I was able to do the spanner and the belt.

But then... I am fantastic, aren't I? (and still currently in possession of all 10 fingers)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6

Member car:

146TS+Ti,156 Sele x2 + V6

Originally Posted by Prof Peach View Post
Must just be my ape-like physique, but I was able to do the spanner and the belt.

But then... I am fantastic, aren't I? (and still currently in possession of all 10 fingers)
Do you want an honest answer???
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 05-06-09
Prof Peach's Avatar
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northumberland
Posts: 3,800
Images: 13

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

I have to wear stileto's to stop my knuckles dragging on the ground!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 23-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Denbighshire
Posts: 18

Member car:

156 2.4 JTD (150)

Originally Posted by iainfm View Post
Here you go.

PAS : power-steering pump
AC : Aircon compressor
G : Idler
CS : Crankshaft pulley
T : Tensioner
GEN : Alternator
Ok, My friend borrowed the car yesterday for a long trip. He said he was having problems at Idle, the engine light kept coming on, he lost PAS, and Air Con was broken. He also heard a knocking sound. i've had the car back today and checked it all over and found that this belt has come off. What damage would it have done by not being attached for say 200 miles?

Many thanks for your help.

Blister
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 23-06-09
Rob3rto's Avatar
Status: .
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 2,517
Images: 6

Member car:

156

Worst thing is dead battery and no Power steering (VERY heavy to steer) with the AUX belt off.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (Post Link)  
Old 23-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Denbighshire
Posts: 18

Member car:

156 2.4 JTD (150)

Originally Posted by Rob3rto View Post
Worst thing is dead battery and no Power steering (VERY heavy to steer) with the AUX belt off.
Phew! Thanks for the reply.

Are they hard to fit?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (Post Link)  
Old 23-06-09
gazza82's Avatar
Status: exhaust fitted ... not happy, blows
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 7,384
Images: 12

Member car:

'98 156 2.0, '09 MiTo 1.4

Blister: PM me your VIN/Chassis number .. starts ZAR932 ... I'll put it in eper and get you the proper Alfa part number for your belt ..
Reply With Quote
  #22 (Post Link)  
Old 23-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Denbighshire
Posts: 18

Member car:

156 2.4 JTD (150)

Thanks for the help, It's worse than I thought though. The belt was there but had come off, on closer inspection one of the pulleys has come loose. It's a big one and I can't tell where it has come from. Do the pulleys have covers that screw/bolt on? It might be a cover? It has the grooves going around it.

I thing this is going to be a recovery then garage job
Reply With Quote
  #23 (Post Link)  
Old 23-06-09
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Denbighshire
Posts: 18

Member car:

156 2.4 JTD (150)

Ok, quick update.

Had the car recovered and taken to the garage. The crank shaft pulley has fallen off and it looks like it's been off for some time. I have no idea how the PAS has been working, but it has.

They are going to take a closer look tonight to see if anything else has been damaged.

What does a crank shaft pulley do? It's costing Ł125 for the part, but that's from Alfa.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156, aux, belt, tensioner

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa Romeo GT...
2004 alfa romeo 156...
Alfa Romeo Brera...
Alfa Romeo 159...
61 alfa romeo...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Alfa 159

View paul.o's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Clicking on a members username within a forum post displays extra options.


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87