Camshaft Position Sensor - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 04-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Camshaft Position Sensor

Just fired up AlfaDiag for the first time to find out why the MCSF warning keeps coming on, and it won't go above 3k RPM - the fault code says that it's a problem with the camshaft position sensor circuit, just wondered what the text "Fault Symptom: Above Maximum Limit" means in the message below? Has it still failed outright? I've found another previous post which says to first test the wiring with a multimeter, and then to just replace the sensor if the wiring's OK.




Failed Component Code: Camshaft Position Sensor Circuit (Timing Sensor)
Fault Symptom: Above Maximum Limit
Warning Lamp Status: Warning Lamp Illuminated
Fault Test State: Test not complete for this Error.
Fault Code Storage State: Error Present at time of request
Event Count: 40 count
Environmental Condition One: Engine Speed: 1640 rpm
Environmental Condition Two: Relative Load: 34.5 %
Environmental Condition Three: Engine Coolant Temp: 18.75 °C
Environmental Condition Four: Air Temp: 24.75 °C
Environmental Condition Five: Throttle Valve Angle: 0 °
Environmental Condition Six: Battery Voltage: 11.7126 volts
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Does anybody have any ideas on this please? Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: Go to forum.alfa145.com
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 1,503

Member car:

Go to forum.alfa145.com

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

The status code of "Above Maximum Limit" for fault code P0340 (Engine Timing Sensor) means the sensor has a short circuit with battery +ve, or it is open circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

That's interesting, hopefully it won't need to be replaced then... do you know whereabouts this might be occurring? The connector on top of the engine is intact and tightly connected, could it be chafing of the wires at the sensor itself that are touching the engine casing? Just changed the timing belt and wondering if there were any wires which I didn't pin up correctly...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,836

Member car:

Giulietta 170, GTV. Bo209

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

How did you lock the exhaust camshaft? Also it is possible that damage was caused when tightening the cam wheel nut.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

I put an extension bar through one of the sprocket holes, which did result in bending the metal ring which passes through the sensor. Like an idiot I tapped it back into shape (what I thought was a true circle!) and hoped it wouldn't cause any problems. Could this have broken the sensor, or could it just be mis-reading because of the metal circle being slightly out of kilter?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,967
Images: 13

Member car:

BMW 528i SE

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Originally Posted by ChrisP147 View Post
I put an extension bar through one of the sprocket holes, which did result in bending the metal ring which passes through the sensor. Like an idiot I tapped it back into shape (what I thought was a true circle!) and hoped it wouldn't cause any problems. Could this have broken the sensor, or could it just be mis-reading because of the metal circle being slightly out of kilter?


That will have almost certainly have broken the sensor IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Oh dear, looks like I'll be taking a trip to the dealers soon then! Does anybody know what the part number is for the cam sensor, I can't find it on ePer? Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,967
Images: 13

Member car:

BMW 528i SE

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

I take it your 147 is a petrol?

Either way it is listed here

Fiat Parts and Alfa Romeo Parts from Shop4Parts

No need to go near a dealer for this one..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
iainfm's Avatar
Status: Hey Joe...
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Perth and Kinross
Posts: 6,262
Images: 5

Member car:

147 1.6TS, BMW 320d

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Factors have sensors. I paid £60ish quid for mine. Dealer wanted nearly £120!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8

Member car:

156 TS 2.0 Sportwagon

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Just got exactly the same symptoms on the 156 2.0TS - orange engine light on, car won't run above 3k revs but is sweet up to that point although a bit hard to start, diagnostics at my friendly non-Alfa garage says "phase sensor".... sounds like we know what it is - can anyone else confirm this is a fail mode for the cam sensor on the TS engine? I've had one go on both my integrales (old 8V and 16V engine) and the car wouldn't start, on a Fiat Coupe 16VT (car started, did strange things around 4k revs then ran fine) and on my current Coupe 20VT (wouldn't start). The failure symptom seems to change with the appplication - just curious.

Ah well, at least the variator needs doing, so it's kinda worthwhile pulling the cambelt off 8k miles after it was changed.... all part of life's rich pattern...

DBP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 05-07-08
Status: Banned for not following the site rules
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 9,721
Images: 6

Member car:

146TS+Ti,156 Sele x2 + V6

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Interesting one this, the damage to the Cam ring will be causing errors, but the sensor wont be damaged, just picking up the wrong signal and between that, the crank sensor and the ping sensor the engine will fire out of turn, the ring is what needs to be replaced, and I'm guessing you had the car wasn't running when you pulled the codes hence the <12V warning, You can also get that warning if the Variator solenoid (71736025) is faulty and isn't phasing the inlet cam correctly.

But
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 06-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Thanks for the headsup about the Shop4Parts cam sensor, and Smaky that's nice to know that the sensor might not be damaged! The cam ring on the sprocket could only have been millimetres out of line, as I bent it back into as circular a shape as possible. It is strange though, because the problem didn't occur until about 10 miles after startup from changing the timing belt, then it lasted for 10 minutes, and the problem went away soon after. Then about 90 mins later the problem reoccurred and has been on ever since. Could possibly be the variator solenoid as I had that out to fix a leak when I did the timing belt... I tested the solenoid when it was out and it clicked into action when hooked up to DC..... is there any other way to test this, perhaps using the Test sequence in AlfaDiag??

J999evo that's exactly the same as what's happening with mine, you know if you accelerate quickly to 3k revs and then change gear it can actually still feel like you've got a fully functioning engine!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 06-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8

Member car:

156 TS 2.0 Sportwagon

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Thanks guys - ChrisP147, I hope you sort yours out soon. My local guy "couldn't clear the fault" which does indicate that on mine, it's a hard fault on the cam sensor, rather than a slightly damaged cam ring - I'll let my specialist chap take over from here - having spent last weekend chinging the fron wishbones, my knuckles are just recovering!

Well, the shopping list is growing... We've got to do a cam sensor, variator, get an MOT, pay the road tax and fix the aircon before we go off round Europe on hols in August - I can feel a Brera coming on... (in my dreams!)

DBP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 07-07-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Thanks j999evo, managed to get the sensor out yesterday and found .5mm wear on the sensor from where the metal sprocket had been rubbing on it - looks like it's a new sensor for me! I know what you mean about the ever-growing shopping list!

Just found the sensor for £40 from "Online Automotive" - does anybody have any experience of these? It says the sensor is for the 1.6i , didn't know there was a difference between a 147 1.6 and 1.6i , they're both injected aren't they?! Please could someone just have a quick look and make sure this is the right sensor for my 1.6 2002 147?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 07-07-08
Status: Go to forum.alfa145.com
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 1,503

Member car:

Go to forum.alfa145.com

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Originally Posted by ChrisP147 View Post
Just found the sensor for £40 from "Online Automotive" - does anybody have any experience of these? It says the sensor is for the 1.6i , didn't know there was a difference between a 147 1.6 and 1.6i , they're both injected aren't they?! Please could someone just have a quick look and make sure this is the right sensor for my 1.6 2002 147?
All the Twin Spark engines are injected and all the TS engines used in the 147 (1.6 or 2.0) use the same Camshaft Position Sensor. This is Alfa Part number 46469912 which corresponds to part reference CS1122-OL on the Online Automotive website. Alfa dealers charge over £120 for a new Camshaft Position Sensor sensor so it's a very good price.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 26-10-08
chebik's Avatar
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3

Member car:

156 GTA

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

ChrisP147, did u fix the problem and how?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 27-10-08
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36

Member car:

147

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

Hi Chebik,

Yes I managed to sort the problem by replacing the camshaft sensor. The local motorspares shop had it for £56. It was a bit of a pig to get the connecting wires out of their holders, but still doable. It turned out that I had dinked the exhaust sprocket so that the thin bit of metal that passes through the sensor was not completely true, and so it had rubbed away at the top layer of plastic on the sensor.

If you go through the process of changing the cambelt then once you've got the exhaust sprocket off you can change the sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 27-10-08
CroBaron's Avatar
Status: Silver Member
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 2,196
Images: 8

Member car:

147 1.9 JTDM, 156 2.0TS

Re: Camshaft Position Sensor

I dread the day mine goes as it's a pig of a job to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
camshaft, position, sensor

Thread Tools


Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa-CF2-V6-Plenum-C...
Alfa-CF3-V6-Plenum-C...
Kleber Quadraxer...
Alfa Romeo 156...
2009 Alfa Romeo...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Ao Killarney Meet...

View David P's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Clicking the small triangle on the right hand side of every post will take you to the top of the page.
Very handy as you can instantly reach the site navigation bar!


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:20.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91