Alfa 145 TS fuel/starting problems - help. please - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 26-09-07 Thread Starter
Not Happy Alfa 145 TS fuel/starting problems - help. please

I'm a newbie to the site and have to thank so many of you for the friendly welcome messages I've received.
My 145 has given little trouble over the past couple of years, but this week is playing up something serious.
It was running fine, then just died when I was driving. It would crank, then splutter out. Checked fuel level - OK. Repeated attempts failed, but after leaving it for half an hour it did the spluttering thing then finally restarted, ran for 20 minutes, and restarted no problem an hour or two later.
The following morning it did the same thing as before - cranking OK, firing and running for 5-10 seconds, then dies. It's stuck now, and won't drive, so I can't get it to a garage with diagnostic equipment. Havng read some other threads I thought it may be something to do with fault memory stuff, so striking out in the dark I've disconnected the battery this morning and will leave it for 8 hours or more before retrying, but I don't hold out too much hope that it'll work. I'm confues by all the talk about airflow bits and pieces, but would really appreciate absolutely any assistance - it's driving me round the bend (or at least I'd be happy if it would driveme anywhere right now).

Rich 145
Sponsored Links
AO Platinum Member
County: Oxfordshire
Re: Alfa 145 TS fuel/starting problems - help. please

Can you hear the fuel pump running when you turn on the ignition before the engine starts? If not could be fuel pump relay or cut off switch beneath the passenger seat. I managed to knock the one on my QV by sliding the seat forwards too quickly.

The fuel pump relay is located under a black cover next to the battery. Sometimes the contacts on these corrode and cause all sorts of running problems.