Changing Camshaft Phase Sensor - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 22-04-03 Thread Starter
Status: Selling 156 - need bigger boot!
AO Member
 
Rich Bristow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 36
Images: 10

Member car:

33, 156 JTD16v

Changing Camshaft Phase Sensor

I know there has been a thread on the 155 site about changing cam belts, but for 1 the site aint working and 2, I am really after info on changing the cam shaft phase sensor. I know it is behind the exhaust camshaft pulley and I know it is going to be a big job to change. Question is how does the camshaft locking tool work? Because if I have to remove the pulley wheel there wont be anything left to lock the camshaft with? The cam moving doesnt bother me that much as I have changed plenty of cambelts before and I just re-aligned everything with the timing marks. But the threads I have found say this cam locking tool is essential. So now I am confused and considering coughing up the huge amounts for a garage to change the sensor. I dont like having to give it to a garage through my ignorance (and because of the large bill!)

can anyone enlighten me?

cheers

Rich.
Rich Bristow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Twilight Zone........
Posts: 187

Member car:

ALFA 155 V6

RICH the 155 site is working but with a different address its http://216.73.108.51/155/

hope this helps
speedy is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
 
rarebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,026

Member car:

911, 156, Merc C

The camshaft locks are bolted down in the place of an original cam strap, they have an inside mould of the camprofile and thus keeping the cams in the same place.
I hope this helps
rarebear is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Nigel S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,679

Member car:

156 2.0 16v SP3

Much as I love to spend all day laying under my car getting progressively dirtier and enjoy the pride of doing a good job myself, there are a some things I like to let the pro's do.

Anything to do with camshafts is certainly one of them.

I'd rather pay to get it sorted, if it then goes **** up the garage can foot the bill to fix their **** up, if I get it wrong then it's my own problem!
Nigel S is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 23-04-03 Thread Starter
Status: Selling 156 - need bigger boot!
AO Member
 
Rich Bristow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 36
Images: 10

Member car:

33, 156 JTD16v

OK thanks Guys

Nigel you are right about transfering the risk to the garage. Its just a lot of money and when you need a service, new tyres, wishbones, and exhaust all at the same time.

Oh the joys of Alfa ownership!
Rich Bristow is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Nigel S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 1,679

Member car:

156 2.0 16v SP3

"Character" costs money...
Nigel S is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 145 & 146

Tags
camshaft , changing , phase , sensor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome