145 fFreezing Handbrake cure? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 07-11-02 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: West Yorkshire
145 fFreezing Handbrake cure?

I know its abit early for this but prevention is better than cure they say! Winter is approaching and I don't want to be stuck with the infamous frozen 145 handbrake for yet another year.

Does anyone have a cure for this? I seem to remember someone suggesting spraying WD40 up the outer casing of the cables. Or is there another thing to try?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

edgasket

Sorry, what eek! ? The hand brake freezes?

AO Member

Oh dear - heading for my first 145 winter! Hope someone knows the answer!

I once had this happen in a Fiesta, there was snow, I never realised the rear wheels were locked until I did a 720 degree spin going down a hill (fortunately slowly).
AO Platinum Member

Handbrake freezes can affect any car.

This is the time of year I usually just get my head under the back-end and grease anything that looks like it pivots, slides or moves.

I never lost a handbrake yet.

And give all your locks a squirt of WD40 (or better still, that spray grease that Halfords sell) before this wet weather turns to ice and you end up locked out of your motors.

Ralf S.
wrinx

Affects the 155 too, I've got used to parking up and not putting the handbrake on if it looks like a cold night is ahead!!

Check the caliper end of your cable, the rubber seal perishes allowing moisture to enter the "U" shape and freeze. Replace it or apply liberal amounts of grease

wrinx

(Post Link) post #6 of 12 Old 08-11-02 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: West Yorkshire
Thanks guys, I'll get my grease gun out this weekend! I've have heard of it affecting other cars aswell, its just that every 145 I've owned has done this if the freeze is severe. Its no fun in the morning waiting for the heat from the exhaust to thaw out the handbrake mechanism!