Alfa Romeo Forum banner

Extended warranty & DPF/EGR removal

2K views 22 replies 7 participants last post by  rickyw 
#1 ·
My 159 will be out of warranty at the end of October. I'm seriously thinking of extending it, but I'm also thinking of getting the DPF/ EGR removal done.

If I do this, will it scupper any future claims? Anyone else done this under the 4th year warranty?

#2 ·
If you do anything that makes the car non standard I would have thought that it is likely to invalidate the extended warranty. Don't forget though that the extended warranty is not really from Alfa but is just an insurance company, the same as the third year Alfa warranty. Our local dealer said the clutch on my wife's 147 needed replacing in the third year but the insurance compay disagreed. It took a lot of hard work by the dealer to get them to cough up for a replacement. Without their support it would have cost us a fortune.

#4 ·
I am not an expert on this subject but they will always find a reason not to pay up. For example, if your gearbox packs up they will probably say that it wasn't designed to take the additional power following the remap and that you put undue strain on it. As I say, I am not an expert and I could be wrong.......

#5 ·
I think Ciderphil is right, if you mod the car you're likely to find them refusing most claims on the grounds that you've over stressed this, or adjusted that. But, and here's the thing, even if you don't the chance's are they'll wriggle on wear and tear, or some other exclusion.

#6 · (Edited)
A remap can damage the ECU, turbo, clutch, gearbox, drive shafts, the engine itself.

One of the problems is that teh drivetrain is rated at 400Nm - and the 2.4 already produces 400Nm from stock.