Alfa Romeo Forum banner

Clutch change!

5K views 27 replies 12 participants last post by  CraigMans 
#1 ·
Right I know this a bit of a mad question!

How hard is it to change the clutch on a GTV?

I realise its a big strip down job so very time consuming but could it be done on axle stands and a jack?

The reason I ask is, I am bloody skint. I can't afford to send it to a garage knowing its going to cost me the best part of a grand. I had money set aside for it and then the cam sensor snapped off and it cost me £1200 to sort that out.

I am not a mechanic. But I have quite good technical knowledge. If its taking something apart and replaceing parts then I am sure I can do it.

Any help anyone can give would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Craig.

#3 ·
craig its a day and a half job on axle stands plus a handy assistant whilst lowering refitting the gearbox the hardest part i found was getting at the top starter motor bolt the rear exhaust manifold needs unbolting to get at it. The subframe can stay in place it just meens the gearbox needs a twist as it comes out and back in. Also you will need a 36mm socket to get the front wheel hub nuts off. Let me know if you decide to do it i will be happy to help via email if required.

#10 ·
Hi,

things to consider when doing the clutch.
Drive Shaft Oil seals x2
Rear main seal x1
Drive shaft seal carrier O rings x2
Gearbox input shaft seal (assembly wears with the release bearing sliding on it) x1
Re seal sump (disadvantage is that you need to take off oil radiator pipes and auxilliary belt)
Clutch slave cylinder - I renewed the internal seals.

Cheers, and good luck

#11 ·
landymm1, I'm driving 97 GTV, so I believe there is no dual mass flywheel. Am I correct? Thanks jayarr for the info!