Alfa Romeo Forum banner

166 17" Tyre pressures

5K views 25 replies 12 participants last post by  DavidP. 
#1 ·
Right, I've been driving my 166 now for nearly 4 years with it's factory fitted 17" Alloys (you know the nice ones with the roundy holes).

Unfortunetly when I bought her the previous owner didn't include all the documentation, so having rambeled around on line and as best I could I reckoned the tyre pressures should be 2.3 bar/34 psi. All was well (apart from the steering feeling a little heavy). Then, last week I had a blow out on a tyre that was less than 12 months old. Not unusual but got me back the correct pressure question.

Searching the forum (don't ask why I didn't check here first!) I discoved a thread that said the AR recomened pressrue for 17" was 2.7 bar/39 psi front and back. So I pumped the tyres up to 2.7 and ... it's terrible! Very bad cornering when pushed. Feels very, very skittish. I've doubled checked the pressures with a digital pressure gauge.

So, my question to any 166 owers with 17" is this ... what pressures do you put in? Also, have you noticed a significant difference in handling with differnt makes/models of tyre?

Cheers

Variator

See less See more
#3 ·
Trouble is the handbook doesn't mention 225/45/17. If you look at Jamie Porter's website - www.alfaworkshop.co.uk his forecourt guide says 2.7 bar, x 14.7 psi = 39.69 psi. A few threads have backed this up and I certainly have found these pressures to feel better on the road. I'll admit that neck end of 40psi does seem a lot on a car but it works on my bus.

#5 ·
My book mentions the 225/45/17 clearly stated as 2.7 bar as opposed to 2.3 bar on the 16's. It also states to increase by 0.3 when driving at sustained high speed!

When I first bought my car all the tyres were unevenly worn - I noted that tyre pressures were way low at around 2.0 Bar. I had geometry checked - No problem. I replaced tyres and run at 2.7 Bar now - Good even wear with no problems.